Friday, August 02, 2013

The County of London ..........

The County Of London was created in 1889. It consisted of the boroughs of Lambeth, Southwark, Greenwich, Woolwich, Eltham, Wandsworth, Poplar, Hackney, Bethnal Green, City Of London, Tower Hamlets, Islington, Holborn, Westminster, Marylebone, Paddington, Kensington & Chelsea and Stoke Newington. Outer boroughs such as Edmonton, Willesden and Newham did not become part of London until 1965. But, those areas were so built up they were probably described as London from around 1900 onwards. Pedantically your great grandmother born 1895 was born in Newham in Essex, but she was still maybe a Greater Londoner. The areas of London that were outside the Square Mile and that were formed into the new 1889 county were always considered London ie Soho, Islington etc.

No comments: